Planetary Consciousness

I ran across an interesting theory, while reading a James Rollins book (“Alter of Eden”), that artfully wove together fractals, the fact that all animals have strange magnetite crystals in the brain, and perspectives on what makes a human-animal bond so strong.  The theory, roughly stated, is that at one point in the movement of animals through developmental time, our brains shared a composite consciousness by means of a fractal web of these magnetite particles in our brains creating satellite-dish-type communications that formed a “single-mind” sort of approach to shared survival.

It is a fantastic thought, and one that fits in rather nicely with another theory: Noetics, which I ran across in the Dan Brown book, “The Lost Symbol.”  Roughly, that theory goes that the soul and thoughts have measurable substance.  Given laser-sharp focus, will to sustain or emotion to animate, and imagination to give substance & guide, our thoughts can manifest, affect, or effect.  Oddly enough, through my years of dabbling in theologies (along a varied spectrum), I have found that the notion of ritual or formulaic prayer (in the monotheistic religions) and spell-casting (in the pagan religions) contain exactly those same three ingredients.

Then Echart Tolle in his book, “The New Awakening,” I find something that is oddly obvious as soon as one points it out: we are the planet (the system).  That is, we are no less than earth, water, air, fire — in all their permutations.  What else could we be; where else do our ingredients come from?  We sprang from the elements of this planet via the forces that sustain life, including, perhaps, a divine spark of animation. But there’s more: we’re conscious.  The planet has a living skin of which we are merely cells within the totality of its being.  When you look at your hand, you know that it is not conscious, but rather the organ in your head eminates the consciousness to the rest of the body.  We are that organ for the planet.  We are the consciousness of the planet. (I’m not being anthrocentrist, excluding the possibility of other “cells” on this planet being conscious, such as dolphins. But since I don’t know, I can’t say.)

The awesome part of the convergence of these thoughts is that we are more than our petty, selfish existences.  But what does that matter?

In the case of Noetics, it means that the people who are combining their thoughts toward a single end may make it happen.  So, if there are enough people in one political party who believe we need to think and act like they do, and if it as a composition of minds focuses regularly and ardently, then they could reshape the rest of us.

I know, I know — that takes conspiracy theory to a whole new level.  Well, earth-bound anyway.  But in reality, I’m not too worried about that so much because I believe that the people who have the potential don’t have the discipline beyond emoting to even achieve the three requirements for lift off, so to speak, not to mention combining them effectively.

But I do think that some of the rest of us might, with practice, leap-frog over the three-ingredient model and operate within a single network of shared consciousness as the planet.

Does this mean I don’t believe in God, Gods, Gawd(s)?  Nope — doesn’t mean that at all.  But whereas I thought I had a handle on what I wanted to believe in as far a divinity goes, I haven’t gotten that far in this new model yet.  I will though.

But first, I am exploring how the consciousness might work.  It’s tricky.  It’s like advanced meditation and advanced spell-casting all at once.  What makes a spell “advanced” is the necessity to form, contain, and direct multiple threads or moving pieces in the mind at one time.  The advanced meditation part comes in as part of creating and maintaining the mental context.  Both require discipline that is outside my skillset at the moment, but that I used to have when I was much younger.  I can get it back … or, probably closer to the truth, relearn it.  I hope.

I’m finding it all too easy to fall into the comfy basket that is my head.  I once wrote a Facebook status that read: Ya don’t realize that, when you’re inside your head, you’re dreaming; when you’re outside your head, you’re present. It’s astoundingly true.  Have you ever been deep-thinking and had some external (to your head) event initiate a cascading feeling that your mind was being slingshot through a dark tunnel into glaring light?  The same thing happens to me when I am dreaming (sleeping) and something jolts me awake: the feeling is actually accompanied by a buzzing or sizzling noise like the cold light fixtures in a huge laboratory warehouse being suddenly turned on with the single throw of some monster, lever-operated breaker switch.  Gzzztzzzz.  It isn’t, for me, some simple cognitive reorientation or redirection; it’s physical.  And it can be jarring.  But the dichotomy is enough for me to substantiate for myself the difference in presence.

All that to say that I’ve got some bad habits to undo before I can make a whole lot of progress with the mental discipline it takes to be planetarily conscious. That’s a lot of consciousness.  But I’ve made some. The aim isn’t necessarily to become some space cadet, but rather to consider another type of consciousness besides the one that comes too easily for us and that apparently boxes us in.

The sensation as I begin to achieve some minor, baby-step progress is awesome. Not that I’m doing it for the sensation, although that’s a nice side-affect to have, I’m thinking.  The trick is to do it often and well; and not to try to achieve everything coming out of the gate.  Everyone has to learn the junior stuff before graduating to the senior stuff. Like learning to drive and drive a stickshift while moving down a windy country road all at the same time. As much as I would like to challenge the course on planetary consciousness, I know I can’t.

I have no idea how to wrap this up because the impulse to write this was simply to record all three of the major components of the “model” into one place.

One Response

  1. A human being is part of a whole, called by us the “universe,” a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings, as something separate from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few people near us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty.

    – Albert Einstein
    ~~

Leave a Reply

